October 20, 2020

Values

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:32 pm by kellyfdennis

Many people know what their values are and some have to explore. If you need exploration, try this exercise.

Rank order this list of values from least important to you to most important to you. Then pick your top 5 and explore how you’re living in your values in the domains of your emotional self, physical self, psychological self, and spiritual self.

A Values Checklist 

Below are some common values. 

  1. Acceptance/self-acceptance: to be accepting of myself, others, life, etc. 
  2. Adventure: to be adventurous; to actively explore novel or stimulating experiences 
  3. Assertiveness: to respectfully stand up for my rights and request what I want 
  4. Authenticity: to be authentic, genuine, and real; to be true to myself 
  5. Caring/self-care: to be caring toward myself, others, the environment, etc. 
  6. Compassion/self-compassion: to act kindly toward myself and others in pain 
  7. Connection: to engage fully in whatever I’m doing and be fully present with others 
  8. Contribution and generosity: to contribute, give, help, assist, or share 
  9. Cooperation: to be cooperative and collaborative with others 
  10. Courage: to be courageous or brave; to persist in the face of fear, threat, or difficulty 
  11. Creativity: to be creative or innovative 
  12. Curiosity: to be curious, open-minded, and interested; to explore and discover 
  13. Encouragement: to encourage and reward behavior that I value in myself or others 
  14. Engagement: to engage fully in what I am doing 
  15. Fairness and justice: to be fair and just to myself or others 
  16. Fitness: to maintain or improve or look after my physical and mental health 
  17. Flexibility: to adjust and adapt readily to changing circumstances 
  18. Freedom and independence: to choose how I live and help others do likewise 
  19. Friendliness: to be friendly, companionable, or agreeable toward others 
  20. Forgiveness/self-forgiveness: to be forgiving toward myself or others 
  21. Fun and humor: to be fun loving; to seek, create, and engage in fun-filled activities 
  22. Gratitude: to be grateful for and appreciative of myself, others, and life 
  23. Honesty: to be honest, truthful, and sincere with myself and others 
  24. Industry: to be industrious, hardworking, and dedicated 
  25. Intimacy: to open up, reveal, and share myself, emotionally or physically 
  26. Kindness: to be kind, considerate, nurturing, or caring toward myself or others 
  27. Love: to act lovingly or affectionately toward myself or others 
  28. Mindfulness: to be open to, engaged in and curious about the present moment 
  29. Order: to be orderly and organized 
  30. Persistence and commitment: to continue resolutely, despite problems or difficulties. 
  31. Respect/self-respect: to treat myself and others with care and consideration 
  32. Responsibility: to be responsible and accountable for my actions 
  33. Safety and protection: to secure, protect, or ensure my own safety or that of others 
  34. Sensuality and pleasure: to create or enjoy pleasurable and sensual experiences 
  35. Sexuality: to explore or express my sexuality 
  36. Skillfulness: to continually practice and improve my skills and apply myself fully 
  37. Supportiveness: to be supportive, helpful and available to myself or others 

Leave a comment

stefdennis

ponderings on life, food, God, and love

Grace on the Moon

Do Not Weigh Your Self-Esteem on a Scale

on anything and everything

my thoughts on what I see